Heathfield Community College celebrates Student Honours Awards

18th July

Award winners

Winners of the Tony Russell Award – R to L Kristian Skilton, Nathan Steel, Freya Flagg, Maisie Evershed, Atholl Martin, Eleanor Dawson, Lana Gregory with Dorothy Russell

Last Thursday, 11 July 2019, was the annual Awards Evening at Heathfield Community College, with hundreds of students and their family and friends gathering to celebrate their achievements. It was a gorgeous warm evening and everyone enjoyed drinks and live music on the lawn before going inside for the awards.

The Tony Russell Awards are presented annually to one student from each year group for exceptional achievement. The award is for a student who has achieved over and above their call of duty or ability in any field. They are considered to have made contributions to the College as well as excelling in a number of fields; including but not limited to academic subject areas, sport or the Arts.


Fraser Kent was the winner of the wooden shield,  Paul Delderfield Award – awarded to a student who has persevered in the face of adversity.

Gill Holtham Award winner was presented to Millie Price for determination to work hard at changing their attitude to College, through hard work and commitment.

In additional to the above awards, pupils from each year group were awarded prizes for a range of subjects where they had shown outstanding effort, progress and excellence. Over 200 students were awarded a certificate recognising their achievements and engraved glass trophy to celebrate the occasion.

The evening featured a solo performance by rising star soloist Darcy Toyn, a review of the year by Caroline Barlow, Headteacher, and a presentation showing the Heathfield Habits in action. The event was rounded off by a keynote address from Natasha Devon MBE, writer and campaigner on mental health, body image and social equality. Natasha spoke about her battle to be heard on the importance of resourcing and understanding mental health issues and their impact on young people of school age.

Congratulations to everyone from The Heathfield News!